Campaigns

CHICKENS

Many cities throughout the United States including Oakland, San Jose, Mountain View, Los Angeles, Denver, and Portland (just to name a few) allow residents to raise laying hens. Let’s encourage Sacramento to follow their lead.

A backyard flock provides nutritious eggs, soil amendment for gardeners, pest control, and countless hours of amusement. Traditionally, a small kitchen garden and a few hens were common in urban backyards. The current economic climate has served as an impetus for Sacramentans to roll up their sleeves and grow their own food. The chicken ordinance prohibits resident’s ability to keep hens for egg production. Get the facts here.

Existing Support:

Magpie Caterers, Mulvaney’s Building & Loan, Ravenous Cafe, The Sacramento Natural Foods Co-op, The Sacramento/Pomona Grange, Oak Park Neighborhood Association, Old Soul Coffee Co., Hagginwood Community Association, Sierra-Curtis Neighborhood Association, Slow Food Sacramento, Midtown Neighborhood Association.

Resources:

http://www.backyardchickens.com

http://www.mypetchicken.com/

City Council Contacts:

Contact your councilmember and urge them to modernize Sacramento’s chicken laws. And help us circulate this petition.

Sacramento City Council
http://www.cityofsacramento.org/council/
Mailing Address: 915 I Street, 5th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814

Mayor Kevin Johnson
916-808-5300
Fax 916-264-7680
mayor@cityofsacramento.org

District 1
Angelique Ashby
916-808-7001
Fax 916-264-7680
aashby@cityofsacramento.org

District 2
Sandy Sheedy
(916) 808-7002
Fax (916) 264-7680
ssheedy@cityofsacramento.org

District 3
Steve Cohn
916-808-7003
Fax 916-264-7680
scohn@cityofsacramento.org

District 4
Rob Fong
916-808-7004
Fax 916-264-7680
rkfong@cityofsacramento.org

District 5
Jay Schenirer
916-808-7005
Fax 916-264-7680
jschenirer@cityofsacramento.org

District 6
Kevin McCarty
916-808-7006
Fax 916-264-7680
KMcCarty@cityofsacramento.org

District 7
Darrell Fong
916-808-7007
Fax 916-264-7680
dfong@cityofsacramento.org

District 8
Bonnie Pannell
916-808-7008
Fax 916-264-7680
bpannell@cityofsacramento.org

Advertisements

One response

25 09 2010
Cluck & School lunches « In Oak Park

[…] The date was changed.  Before the hearing we encourage you to contact your city council member (info here) to pledge your support.  Also, there are new tee-shirts for those of you who would like one.  […]




%d bloggers like this: